IL-14, The Plane

The legendary Douglas DC-3 was the inspiration for Russian design engineer Sergej Ilyushin to develop the Il-12 in 1943. The plane, which was originally planned with four engines, was similar to the DC-3 but was about 20% larger and had a nose wheel. Before its maiden flight in 1945, the Il-12 was redesigned and was then powered by two diesel engines with three-blade propellers. When Aeroflot started using the Il-12 for scheduled flights in 1947, the cabin provided space for 18-21 passengers and the crew consisted of two pilots, one navigator, one radio operator and one flight attendant. Although the Il-12 was used in a few Soviet-friendly states for both military and civil flights, it did not enjoy true success. The Il-12 was quite simply too heavy.

Which is why work soon started on its further development, referred to as the Il-14. The prototype flew in July 1950 for the very first time. The Il-14P (P stood for Passazheerskiy/passenger) was given an excellent appraisal by test pilot Vladimir Kokkinaki. He particularly praised the very well arranged cockpit and the good visibility. The plane was now also very well powered with two ASh-82T each with 1900 HP.

On 1 April 1953, the government decided to produce the Il-14 in factory no. 84 in Tashkent. Production then began in autumn 1953. The aeroplane went into service for Aeroflot in 1954 as an 18-seater version. The maximum take-off weight was 17 tons. A large number of military versions were also developed, for example the Il-14D-30 that was used to drop parachutists. The Il-14M that was one metre longer was then taken into service in 1956. This model also had an improved electrical system, newer aviation electronics and a greater operating distance. The Soviet Air Force used various special versions, for example to observe icebergs, as an aerial survey plane and on reconnaissance flights.

The Ilyushin was also produced under licence in a few other Eastern Bloc countries. For example, 200 Avia-14s were built in the former Czechoslovakia and 80 planes left the production halls of VEB in Dresden, then East Germany.

Aeroflot mainly used the Il-14 for domestic purposes in the 1950s. Its longest trip was Leningrad to Vladivostok, nearly 8000 km. The trip took a total of 33 hours and 35 minutes with 10(!) stopovers. When the faster Tu-104 and Il-18 were introduced, the Il-14 was only used for short-haul flights. It was exported to 31 countries and was in wide use until the 1980s.

Technical data (IL-14P/T):
Wingspan: 31.7 m
Length: 21.31 m
Empty weight: 12,080 kg
Max. take-off weight: 17,250 kg
Max. speed: 393 km/h
Details on 01146 Il-14T / Red 21, our plane

It was built in 1957 in Tashkent – the eighth plane of the 38th series of that year. The plane was delivered to the Soviet Air Force with the registration number 01146 and the code name “Red 21”. At the time it was painted in dark green camouflage and was stationed in Moscow-Chkalovsk, also known as Star City – the cosmonaut training centre to the north east of Moscow.

Our Il-14 was in active service until 1992. After being taken out of service, it was sold to a private person and flown to Moscow-Myachkovo. It was later transferred to Zhukovsky where we discovered it in 2002. After a thorough overhaul, our plane successfully completed its test flight on 7 April 2005. Our Il-14 has completed 9160 flight hours to date.

IL-14, Das Flugzeug

Die legendäre Douglas DC-3 veranlasste den russischen Konstrukteur Sergej Ilyushin im Jahre 1943 die Il-12 zu entwickeln. Das ursprünglich mit vier Motoren geplante Flugzeug glich der DC-3 war aber ungefähr 20% grösser und hatte ein Bugrad. Vor dem Erstflug 1945 wurde die Il-12 umkonstruiert und wurde neu von zwei Dieselmotoren mit Dreiblatt-Propellern angetrieben. Als die Aeroflot 1947 den Linienflugbetrieb mit der Il-12 aufnahm, bot die Kabine 18-21 Passagieren Platz und die Besatzung bestand aus 2 Piloten, einem Navigator, einem Funker und einer Stewardess. Obwohl dieser Typ auch in ein paar Sovjetfreundlichen Staaten sowohl zivil als auch militärisch eingesetzt wurde, blieb ihm ein wirklicher Erfolg versagt. Die Il-12 war ganz einfach zu schwer.

Sehr bald wurde deshalb die Weiterentwicklung mit der Bezeichnung Il-14 in Angriff genommen. Der Prototyp flog zum ersten Mal im Juli 1950. Die Il-14P (P stand für Passazheerskiy/Passagier) bekam vom Testpiloten Vladimir Kokkinaki ausgezeichnete Noten. Vor allem lobte er das sehr übersichtliche Cockpit und die gute Sicht nach draussen. Zudem war das Flugzeug nun sehr gut motorisiert, nämlich mit 2 ASh-82T mit je 1900 PS.

Am 1. April 1953 beschloss die Regierung die Il-14 in der Fabrik No. 84 in Tashkent herzustellen. Die Produktion begann dann im Herbst 1953. Das Flugzeug kam ab 1954 in der 18-sitzigen Version bei der Aeroflot auf die Strecke. Das Startgewicht betrug maximal 17 Tonnen. Es wurden auch zahlreiche militärische Versionen entwickelt. Zum Beispiel die Il-14D-30, die zum Absetzen von Fallschirmgrenadieren eingesetzt wurde. 1956 kam die um einen Meter verlängerte Il-14M dazu. Dieser Typ hatte auch ein verbessertes elektrisches System, neuere Avionik und eine vergrösserte Reichweite. Die Sovjetische Luftwaffe setzte diverse Spezialversionen ein, zum Beispiel zur Beobachtung von Eisbergen, als Fotoflugzeug oder als Vermessungsflugzeug.

Die Ilyushin wurde auch in einigen Ostblock-Ländern in Lizenz hergestellt. So baute unter anderen die CSSR 200 Avia-14s und in der DDR verliessen 80 Maschinen die Produktionshallen der VEB in Dresden.

Die Aeroflot setzte die Il-14 in den 50er Jahren vorwiegend im Inland ein. Die längste Strecke verband Leningrad mit Vladivostok, war fast 8000 km lang und wurde mit 10(!) Zwischenlandungen in 33 Stunden und 35 Minuten zurückgelegt. Mit der Einführung der schnelleren Tu-104 und Il-18 kam die Il-14 dann nur noch auf der Kurzstrecke zum Einsatz. Sie wurde in 31 Länder exportiert und war bis in die 80er Jahre weit verbreitet.
Technische Daten (IL-14P/T):

Spannweite: 31.7m
Länge: 21.31m
Leergewicht: 12’080kg
Max Startgewicht: 17’250kg
Max Geschw.: 393 km/h

Details zu 01146 Il-14T / Red 21, unserem Flugzeug

Gebaut wurde es 1957 in Tashkent als 8. Maschine der 38. Serie dieses Jahres. Das Flugzeug wurde mit der Immatrikulation 01146 und dem Codenamen „Red 21“ an die Sowjetische Luftwaffe ausgeliefert. Es hatte damals einen dunkelgrünen Tarnanstrich und war in Moskau-Chkalovsk, auch bekannt als Star City – dem Cosmonauten-Ausbildungszentrum nordöstlich von Moskau, stationiert.
Bis 1992 war unsere Il-14 im aktiven Einsatz. Nach der Ausmusterung wurde sie an eine Privatperson verkauft und nach Moskau-Myachkovo überflogen. Später wurde sie nach Zhukovsky verlegt und dort von uns 2002 wiederentdeckt. Nach einer gründlichen Überholung absolvierte unser Flugzeug am 7. April 2005 erfolgreich den Testflug. Unsere Il-14 hat bis heute 9160 Flugstunden.